From order into chaos

I arrived late at night in Japan and quickly fell asleep. Although I woke up at 6am on the day I left, by the time I went to bed it was 7am the following day. I only got a few hours sleep before we had to wake up and go to the airport destined for Vietnam.

We flew China Airlines, and it was a pretty good experence, except that I locked my in-seat TV into Chinese, so it made it a real pain to select movies. Maybe I should have taken this as a bad omen.

The plan was simple, arrive in Ho Chi Mihn City, meet the travel agency agent with our train tickets, and board a night train for Hue. However, our flight was delayed by 30 minutes due to a thunder storm, and then we were delayed by the glacially paced Immigration agents. By the time we got to the baggage area, our stuff had already been placed on the floor. We were waved right through the Customs area, they simply x-rayed our luggage, but didn’t look at any of our paper work. I hope this doesn’t mean I’m going to get hasseled when we leave. By the time we got out of the airport, it was 50 minutes after our origional arrival time, and the agent was nowhere in sight.

After an hour of searching the airport for our agent, we gave up and decided to head for the train station to try our luck there. In order to do that, we had to find a taxi.

As with every airport in the world, Ho Chi Mihn City Airport has a problem with unlicensed taxis.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

