And Back to Japan Again

Well, I’m off on another trip. It’s strange, on the way to the airport it felt like just another day riding BART, but once I got my boarding pass I started to feel like I was traveling. I felt a bit lighter, not only because I had just checked all my bags, but because for a short time, I can forget about work and just have a good time. I wish I could have this feeling on the weekends.

As I sit here waiting at the gate, I realize that I have mixed feelings about airports. Sometimes they are the source of panic and the dread of missing a flight. The rest of the time they are incredibly boring. Inside the airport everything moves slowly, from the security lines, to the time it takes to order food, to the speed of the moving sidewalks. This seems to be in contradiction to the very idea of air travel, to get from one place to another as quickly as possible. The whole idea of checking in two hours before one’s flight is a prime example of this. If the amount of waiting in line were more predicitble, you could check your bags go through security and walk right onto your plane in 30 minutes. Since that will never happen, I guess I’ll have to content myself with the equally unlikely solution of striking it rich and flying on my own private jet. 🙂

Tags:

One Response to “And Back to Japan Again”

  1. lisa Says:

    Ah.. have fun in Japan!

Leave a Reply

